Having a healthier diet(Part 1): Fiber

20 Apr

Alrighty so, I’ve been doing some research about weight loss and all that good stuff because like most people I want to have a super sexy toned core. The problem is, I love to eat. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it I LOVE TO EAT! I come from a family of fabulous cooks….and when I say fabulous I mean NONE CAN COMPARE TO HOW WONDERFULLY EVERY SINGLE PERSON IN MY FAMILY CAN PREPARE DELICIOUS MEALS THAT ARE EXTREMELY UNHEALTHY FOR YOU!….Sorry for shouting….ehem anyway, my grandmother makes pound cakes like nobodies business and anything else she makes is heavenly. From that wonderful turkey dressing, mac and cheese, greens, sweet potato pies for Thanksgiving to the white rice, bacon, scrambled eggs, hash browns, and biscuits for breakfast.

OK……enough of all that my mouth is starting to water. But seriously, I really want to get a really tight core and if you haven’t heard it said before, abs are made in the kitchen but sometimes you just want to fill up on the fried greasy american foods we all know and love. So whats the best way to eat better? Or at least feel full longer so you won’t eat too much of that greasy garbage we call food? Well there is this great thing called FIBER!Image

That’s right ladies and gentleman fiber will help you feel full longer without concern for gaining unnecessary weight. What’s even better is, according to the internet, fiber is a great way to lose weight because of that fabulous way eat keeps you feeling full longer. Some other benefits of fiber is to help you stay regular…..aka have easier bowel movements. Let’s be mature about this y’all. We all do it and some of y’all probably really struggle….pause…..with that in mind fiber and lots of water will be helpful for all of that irregularity.

Now here is my moment of honesty, I absolutely suck at eating healthy. I mean don’t get me wrong I am much better than I used to be. I eat more fruits and veggies and I’ve cut back substantially in the fried food department. However, I do not get enough rest( the life of a college student) and sometimes my idea of a meal is a muffin and slice of turkey all day resulting in ravenous hunger once I finally get home for dinner….resulting in a spread of anything I can dig my claws into. So that’s where I am in life trying to figure out how to eat better on the go. I’ve recently discovered this great thing called meal prep that I plan to put in full swing this summer. Enough about that though, I’ll write about that another time. Now back to the fiber.

The type of fiber I have been referring to in this post is dietary fiber which is found mostly in fruits and veggies. I have never used any of the marketed fiber supplements but hey whatever floats your boat right? Here are some foods that are pretty common that are high in fiber: pears, strawberries, oranges, broccoli, carrots, greens etc. If you want more foods you can just google high fiber foods for a list of different fruits and veggies to try. Next post will focus on consumption of too much sugar. Want to start losing belly fat cut out all the sugary drinks and processed fruit juices. Fresh squeezed is the way to go(you can also use a juicer if you’re into that kind of thing) and the best part about fresh squeezed fruit juices is the increased fiber! Yay fiber!

Stay Sweet,
KL

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Clearly Beverly

...my life lessons & the things that I know for sure

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

FitGirl2013

Living a Healthier Lifestyle One Day at a Time

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Livingleen

Colleen April Yoga & Wellness

Savy Naturalista

Healthy Living One Calorie at a Time

Exercise...Eat...Rest...Repeat.

It's a whole lifestyle thing!

Life In The Gym

A strange thing happened today...

Weights and Wonder

Amazing things around every corner

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

PfitBlog

Pfit - Pfood - Pfaith

Shred for Less

Getting in shape while keeping things simple.

deadliftsdeductions.wordpress.com/

Feminist, Soon-to-be Tax Attorney, and Heavy Lifter.

Body Rebooted

On the road to optimal health!

