The Black Woman’s Struggle: Sweating Out Your Hairstyle

11 Oct

This post has been a long time coming but I think it’s very befitting considering my current situation.  There have been MANY DAYS that I have paid $50 or more to get my hair done and my gosh it will be LAID!!!…..but the issue is after a good workout it will not be laid.  It will be flat and lifeless and needless to say my $50 will have been wasted.  Now for a sister that has natural hair a wash and go may be all she needs.  For those of us with relaxed hair or transitioning to natural hair (like I am) the task is not quite simple.

See black women have a different kind of hair.  It requires a lot of care and attention because if not it can and WILL run wild.  If I know anything about black women and hair we do not play about it at all.  It requires too much work, too many long hours in a salon, and TOO MUCH MONEY for it to only last for a day or two.  I searched the web for tips on ways to preserve hairstyles with only a few styles that actually worked for me. The types of hairstyles I’m referring to are things like the body wraps and loose curls.  For those of us fortunate enough to invest in $200+ sew-ins you’ve found your golden ticket.  But for girls like me that can only afford $50 a month for professional hair styles….WHAT DO YOU DO????

Clearly you don’t want to sacrifice a week of gym time for your hair…..but that $50 isn’t coming back and try as you may it never feels like you’ve got that professional quality swing and bounce when you flat iron it yourself….well maybe that’s just me. Speaking of flat irons, if you’re like me, you are trying to avoid the heat because you 1.) Fry the life out of your hair , 2.) Use it EVERYDAY which can result in heat damage causing breakage and/or split ends, or 3.) you’re transitioning and the internet has told you heat ruins your curl pattern…..that’s a topic for another day. 

To get back on subject, I’ve come to grips with the fact that I have to make sacrifices to get what I want…..including a hairstlye (that would get washed out in a week anyway).  So here are some hairstyles that I think are helpful for those of us that are transitioning, have relaxers, or are just need something that will last.
BRAIDS
So for braids you can get cornrows/scalp braids or box/patra braids and depending on who you go to and how small they are…..it could take quite some time to complete this style. However, the good news is, you’ll be able to keep it in for at least a month and protect your growing hair. I like box braids and cornrows but my go to style with weave has become Senegalese twist!
SENEGALESE TWIST
Senegalese twist and I have a love hate relationship. For those that know me personally and have done my hair you know that I have A LOT of it! So even though I love to get them it is still such a pain cause I am in the chair for at least 8 hours *le sigh*
TWIST/BRAID OUT
This style certainly does not hold up as long as weave but it’s relatively simple to do. I have actually come to prefer the braid out while I am transitioning. I love how it blends the two hair textures in my head. It certainly makes the transition easier and I don’t sweat it out AS FAST as a wrap lol.
WASH AND GO
I’m jealous of my fully natural sisters. Y’all have the option to wash your hair and go so it’s ok if you break a sweat in the gym. Im certainly not saying the wash and go is always an easier route but you don’t have to worry about losing a style all the time.
Well that’s all for now. Anybody have some tips for how to make a hair style last when you go to the gym on a regular basis? Subscribe and comment below luvs!
xoxo-FitGirl

4 Responses to “The Black Woman’s Struggle: Sweating Out Your Hairstyle”

  1. kelleemudiva October 12, 2014 at 3:32 pm #

    Great post. I would suggest pin curling or bantu knotting your hair prior to working out. Once you’ve showered and dressed, take down the pin curls or bantu knots and you should be left with curls, body and volume.

    Like

    • misslucas2013 October 12, 2014 at 8:04 pm #

      Love Bantu knots but I’m not sure if I want to be in the gym with that on my head LOL!!! I have a HUGE FOREHEAD so I don’t want to draw anymore attention then necessary LOL! Will def try the pin curls though 🙂 thanks hun! xoxo-FitGirl

      Like

  2. fitchick007 October 13, 2014 at 5:34 am #

    Lol. I feel your pain and I’ve had the exact same issues. I’ve tried weaves, but they’re a pain. I’ve done single braids…way too time consuming and I’m a busy girl. What I do now is interlocking. It suits my lifestyle because I spend a lot of time in the gym and playing sports. I also spend a lot of time in the water during the summer and vacation down south in the winter. With interlock, I don’t have to worry about styling my hair. It’s pretty much a wash and go style. I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Clearly Beverly

...my life lessons & the things that I know for sure

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

FitGirl2013

Living a Healthier Lifestyle One Day at a Time

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Livingleen

Colleen April Yoga & Wellness

Savy Naturalista

Healthy Living One Calorie at a Time

Exercise...Eat...Rest...Repeat.

It's a whole lifestyle thing!

Miss. Once Upon A Marathon

Enjoy the run. Both in life and on the roads.

Life In The Gym

A strange thing happened today...

Weights and Wonder

Amazing things around every corner

I Train Therefore I Eat.

Nutrition, Strength Training, and joie de vivre

PfitBlog

Pfit - Pfood - Pfaith

Shred for Less

Getting in shape while keeping things simple.

deadliftsdeductions.wordpress.com/

Feminist, Soon-to-be Tax Attorney, and Heavy Lifter.

